.: J a k e H a g o p i a n :.

Matt Wins the Battle, Jake Wins the War!


News Feed

Monday, 9 January 2012
Daniel Kirby

Matt Brown took out the final round of the Oval Express Formula 500 Super Series last night on an extremely fast and smooth Sungold Stadium surface while his team mate Jake Hagopian become the 2nd American to win the series.
Chad Sullivan finished in 2nd while 16 year old Will Carroll finished 3rd. Stephen Ellement returned to form in 4th.

2010 and 2011 World of Outlaws Sprintcar Champion Jason Meyers was on hand to present the trophies to the winners and also gave a 30 minute speech to drivers and officials prior to the event. Hagopian and Meyers are good friends with Meyers formally racing a 270cc Micro Sprint for Hagopian’s Dad in his younger years

Brown started on the outside of the front row and chased early race leader Jye O’Keeffe for the opening handful of laps before tragedy struck for O’Keeffe when the chain on the V55 broke and fell off. Brown inherited the lead and was never challenged for the rest of the race.

Sullivan started in position 3 and was hard on the gas right from the very start and tried everything to catch Brown. With Brown thundering away Sullivan had to contend with Carroll who was applying some immense pressure but just didn’t have enough laps to make a pass. Ellement had up to the final round of the series failed to make it into the top 4 of a final all series and finished off his series in great style with a 4th place finish.

The 2 time Western Australian champion was followed by Aussie Champion Liam Williams. Grant Stansfield returned to form with a 6th place finish while Hagopian’s 7th place finish was good enough to emulate his fellow countryman Travis Senter Jr and win the Oval Express Super Series.

Dale Sinclair finished in 8th with Dale Shilleto and Mitch Whiting rounding out the top 10. Austin Farley was next in 11th. He was followed by Ash Sinclair, AJ Blackstock, Thomas Davies, Mat Turner, Brett Dillon, Tim Hicks, Brock Hallett and Leigh Van Ginneken to round out the field. Jess Moulden finished 4th in the B-Main but due to an engine expiry as she was crossing the line she was unable to take her place in the field.

The last B-Main of the series went the way of the talented Queenslander Hallett. Hallett led Van Ginneken, Davies, Moulden, Hicks and Farley as the transfers to the back of the A-Main. Whiting and Morton were the reserves. Due to Moulden not being able to start the A-Main, Whiting was able to take his place at the back of the pack.

Windy conditions greeted the 29 drivers for the final round of the gruelling 8 round in 10 day series. 6 heats were contested with O’Keeffe taking the first heat win. Blackstock finished 2nd with Turner in 3rd. Ellement won heat 2. Dale Sinclair finished 2nd with Sullivan finishing 3rd. Carroll took the win in heat 3. He was followed by Brown who started 9th with Williams completing the top 3.

Stansfield returned to form with heat 4 victory. He was chased all the way by Hagopian and Carroll. Sullivan took the penultament heat race of the series when he took the win in heat 5. O’Keeffe finished 2nd with Dillon in 3rd. Brown pick up another heat victory for the series with the win in heat 6. Shilleto and Farley completed the top 3.

Nightly Contingency Awards
Random Draws drawn at the Drivers Meeting
Lethal Race Wings Front Wing- V55 Jye O’Keeffe
Swift Industries Shock Dyno Test- V51 Ash Sinclair
PBI Sprockets Australia- V48 Ryan O’Keefe
Hoosier Tire Australia Right Rear Tyre- USA99 Austin Farley
Oval Express Magazine Best Presented Car Award- V5 Chad Sullivan, V51 Ash Sinclair and GLB4 Matt Brown (As voted by Jason Meyers)
Quick Race Shocks last in B-Main Award- N9 Roy Urpeth
Quick Race Shocks B-Main Award- Q13 Brock Hallett
Swift Industries Nearly Award- V26 Mitch Whiting
Hyper Racing Australia Lucky 13th Award- V75 AJ Blackstock
Driven Performance USA Runner Up Award- V5 Chad Sullivan

Final 2011/2012 Oval Express Formula 500 Super Series Points
1st. Jake Hagopian 1082
2nd. Matt Brown 1076
3rd. Liam Williams 1058
4th. Chad Sullivan 1020
5th. Thomas Davies 921
6th. Jye O’Keeffe 907
7th. Mitch Whiting 883
8th. Will Carroll 822
9th. Mat Turner 820
10. Dale Sinclair 815

The Victorian Formula 500 Association would like to thank all of the Tracks, Sponsors and Officials for their valued support during the 2011/2012 Oval Express Formula 500 Super Series. We also have a Facebook page. Search for Australian Formula 500 Facebook Page and ask to join

2011/2012 Oval Express Formula 500 Super Series Sponsors
Oval Express Magazine- Phil & Michelle Jordison and Jon Evans
Eagle Motorsports- Bill Mann & Stephen Bell
Aussie Trackwear- Tracey Brown
Quick Race Shocks- Rob Richardson
Hoosier Tyres Australia- Max Dumesny
Swift Industries- Darren Mollenoyux
Hyper Racing Australia- Dave Hedington & Mike Dicely
Lethal Race Wings- Leigh Van Ginneken
PBI Sprockets Australia- Mat Coates
Phil Jordison Photography- Phil and Michelle Jordison
Driven Performance USA- Mark Hagopian and Gary Olsen
Victory Lane Racegear- Mat Eastham
Maxam Printing- Trevor Cotterill
Empire Graphics- Craig Bottrell
Pit Crew- Warwick & Matt Hunter
Redback Lasers- Kelvin Johnson
Spruce Enterprises- Lee Hardess

2011/2012 Oval Express Formula 500 Super Series Tracks
Round 1- Western Speedway, Hamilton
Round 2- Avalon Raceway
Round 3- Sungold Stadium, Warrnambool
Round 4- Laang Speedway
Round 5- Simpson Speedway
Round 6- Mid Western Speedway, Darlington
Round 7- Laang Speedway
Round 8- Sungold Stadium, Warrnambool